Tags

, ,

What can a person say about a friend who is so special and so generous that it brings tears to your eyes.

That is how I feel about my friend Erica. A welcomed surprise, my friend. It started out as business, but it became a friendship to me.
No, not the kind that you call each other every thirty minutes and yap away. No, not the kind that giggles like school girls.
Those were fun times, when it was age appropriate.

Now is not that time. Erica is my mentor, my inspiration and hope for my future.

No I have not put her or anyone else on any pedestal, but I am just so grateful to know her. I learned more from Erica than I could in any Ivy League college.
She is for real and I am honored and blessed to know her.

When I am down in the dumps and I reach out to her, I get a little pep talk and a push to stop it, don’t be scared and just do it.

Sounds easy, right? Well, I did take her advice and I must admit that she was right. There are some things, some decisions that should have swift action without thinking.
My thinking could have exploded my anxiety and made me fall into a deeper depression.

Not with Erica to talk to. She’s that special. She is objective and a realist, as far as I can see, and I love it.

I am tired of having those sad days. It still gets very difficult to get up from the waters of depressive drowning, but with Erica’s words of work hard, study hard, never give up and just do it, I can do this.

Where is my confidence? I used to own it.
I must find it and her (meaning my old thick skinned and backboned self).

I can do this and I will also start with some of Erica’s suggestions.
Grab a hobby, away from school and work. Have fun with it.

So this is what I bought. A lovely portable sketchbook. I love how it fits into my mid-size purse without weighing it down.
I have even started some doodling action on it.

Would you like to see it?

I hope so. I could sure use some feedback. I am rusty and hope to get better at it. For most of my life I have pencil sketched and it served me well regarding mental quiet time.
I used to sit in my living room with my father, and as he read the daily paper, I would sketch away.
Those were lovely times. I miss them.

What is your hobby? I love hobbies and expanding the mind. It may give me an idea.

So I shall begin my sketch for today shortly (since I am at work right now).

I do hope that you will like it.

